January, February 2012

I’m going to try this year to post monthly summaries and plans for my reading.

I read  5 books in January:

  • Fly Away Peter by David Malouf (a reread)
  • The History of Love by Nicole Krauss (for Orange January)
  • Tirra Lirra by the River by Jessica Andersen (for Australian Literature Month)
  • Every Man is a Race by Mia Couto
  • The Chase by Alejo Carpentier (which I started during last October’s read-a-thon but failed to finished)

Such thought-provoking reads.  But, I’m already behind on reviews.

I started reading Sudden Fiction International: 60 Short Short Stories edited by Robert Shapiro and James Thomas. I enjoyed the first seven stories and look forward to working my way through the anthology.

I announced the Africa Reading Challenge and I’m very encouraged by the response.

I entered eight reading challenges.  I’ll add a couple more this month and officially enter the Africa Reading Challenge, which sounds a bit like cheating!

The selected reading pool for February is:

  • Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham
  • The Book of Chameleons by Jose Eduardo Agualusa
  • Omon Ra by Victor Pelevin
  • Glorious Nemesis by Ladislav Klima
  • Evening is the Whole Day by Preeta Samarasam
  • The Word Tree by Teolinda Gersao
  • Contemporary African Short Stories edited by Chinua Achebe and C.L. Innes

How was your reading in January?  What are your plans for this month?

8 comments

  1. I wanted to know what you think about The History of Love. As for Evening is the Whole Day by Preeta Samarasam, I want to read that too. That was my country of birth, so I like to catch up anything that is written by my local writers.
    I love monthly wrap-up myself, it puts my reading in perspective.

    Like

  2. Ohhh so inspiring! I will tell you my plans in a blogpost! I love your blog, your writing and your selection of both books and challenges (I never knew they existed, a new world has opened!)

    Like

  3. Great list of books read and books lined up. Also, that’s a lot of reading challenges! Good luck this month and hopefully you get more reading and blogging time in 🙂

    Like

  4. You did well in January, Kinna. My reading is getting on slowly because of work and the kids, but I intend to pick up speed this February and read at least three that I selected for the challenges. By the way, I’ve not ready any of books above.

    Like

  5. Looks like you did some good reading in January. I enjoyed reading Evening is the Whole Day which I read a few years ago. I didn’t know much about Malaysia so that was interesting (and a good storry).

    I’ve also signed up for more challenges than I was planning. Must check out the African challenge (help!).

    Like

Comments are closed.